Franz Ferdinand Announce Album ‘Always Ascending’, Share Lead Track

Franz Ferdinand have today released a host of details surrounding their next studio album Always Ascending. The record, the band’s sixth studio effort, is slated for release on 9 February 2018, and promise to re-imagine the sound of the British stalwarts, having been recorded in Paris and London with French producer Philippe Zdar, whose previous collaborations include The Beastie Boys, and many others.

Along with the announcement, the band have released the track-listing for the upcoming album, which features material heard throughout  the year at their various festival appearances:

1.    Always Ascending
2.    Lazy Boy
3.    Paper Cages
4.    Finally
5.    The Academy Award
6.    Lois Lane
7.    Huck And Jim
8.    Glimpse Of Love
9.    Feel The Love Go
10.   Slow Don’t Kill Me Slow

And if that’s not enough, they’ve even gone and treated us to the lead single from the record. ‘Always Ascending’ does pretty much just that – its futuristic, operatic opening giving way to a jagged, ear-worm of a riff before its glam-rock chorus provides the air of fun that Franz Ferdinand have perfected over the years.

Always Ascending is available to pre-order now, and full dates and info regarding their tour are available from the band’s website.

Author avatar
Ben Kitto

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.