RIOT’s Release Radar: #025

The music press has been shaken this week by the news that Q Magazine is to close after 34 years.

With all of the benefits and convenience that free online journalism can offer (you’re welcome), the whole industry is interconnected and it is the joint responsibility of all fans to keep the money flowing. Buy a magazine once in a while – it’s a proper cultural artefact that costs the same price as a pint.

Beabadoobee // Care

Announcing her debut album, Fake It Flowers, Beabadoobe has dropped the stunning ‘Care’. Filled with grungy riffs ‘Care’ is the perfect fuck everything song, and we’re here for it. PG

Tiña // Golden Rope

Later this year, Tiña are to be the first act to make a full LP with South London’s Speedy Wunderground label. We can’t wait to see what the outfit rustle up. MG

Rejjie Snow ft. MF Doom // Cookie Chips

Rejjie has teamed up with Cam O’bi and a bone fide legend of the rap game – MF DOOM – for a tune that could not be more summer-ready. MG

Bamily // Oh Damn

Firm RIOT favourites Bamily have released another great track. ‘Oh Damn’ shows Bamily flexing their Pop muscles moreso than ever before. PG

Boy Pablo // Honey

Gearing up to release his debut album, Norwegian indie star Boy Pablo is back at it again with his latest single, ‘Honey’. Once again filled with simmering indie pop, Honey makes you wish you were dipping your feet in a pool, enjoying the summer sun. PG

The Magic Gang // Make Time For Change

Is it only us, or does this one make us wish that we were driving a convertible through a sun-filled coast? Having had to move back their sophomore album a week to allow for vinyl to be pressed, The Magic Gang have dropped the ultimate banger that is ‘Make Time For Change’. PG

Samantha Crain // High Horse

The first artist to be signed to Lucy Rose’s Real Kind Records. Samantha’s ‘A Small Death’ LP was released on Friday and it is the perfect soundtrack to these slow summer evenings. MG

Matt Berninger // Distant Axis

The National’s frontman just sounds better with every track that he lends his voice to. Solo album Serpentine Prison arrives in October. MG


Author avatar
Matt Ganfield

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.