RIOT’s Tracks of the week #003

With the unstoppable onslaught that is new music, it’s sometimes difficult to distinguish the good, the bad and the ugly. Yet waging our way through the stream of new tracks this week, we have come out with five of the finest songs of the week. So sit down, relax and enjoy our tracks of the week.

Soccer Mommy // Inside Out 

Taken from her forthcoming mini-album, Collection, set for release on 4 August via Fat Possum, Soccer Mommy (aka 19-year-old Sophie Allison) this week released chilled-out single “Inside Out”, alongside a music video designed to visually narrate the tone of the track. Discussing the song, Allison revealed “‘Inside Out’ is a song I wrote about feeling helpless about the future and the outcome of a relationship. It reflects a feeling of wanting to have a power over someone, but knowing that you actually have none. The video shows that loneliness in some moments, but – with the monster masks – also reflects a darker side, because those feelings bring out a person’s demons.” With gentle acoustic chords, intricate electric guitar riffs, and subtle background vocals, the track follows the gentle nature of previous single, “Allison”, and promises more like it to come.


The Big Moon // Pull The Other One

Returning with their latest single, ‘Pull The Other One’, taken off their debut Love in The 4th Dimension the London four piece have once again made us fall in love with one of their tracks. With Juliette Jackson’s witty lyricism the guitar-filled indie banger is an instant ear worm.

Superfood // Unstoppable

‘Unstoppable’, the latest single from Birmingham’s Superfood, brings in a whole new sound for the indie-pop band. Pulling in a Gorillaz meet Hard-Fi feel the latest off cuts from the band’s upcoming album sound, well, unstoppable.

Rat Boy // In The City

With his debut primed and ready for 11th August, Rat Boy this week unveiled ‘In The City’, a track which has nothing to do with his upcoming release. Yet this one-off single comes in to help us tide the wait until the release of Scum. The two and a half minute heavy bass groover has all the makings of a classic Rat Boy banger.

Swimming Tapes // What’s On Your Mind

Following the announcement of their second EP Soft Sea Blue set for release this September, indie five-piece Swimming Tapes unveiled their dreamy new track ‘What’s On Your Mind’. Produced by Adam Jaffrey the sun-kissed track is the perfect soundtrack to a lazy summer’s day.

Author avatar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.